Where to stay · verified September 2026
Best Family Hotels in Tokyo: Connecting Rooms & Kitchenettes (2026)
Fifteen Tokyo hotels where a family of four to eight can actually fit in one booking — apartment hotels with real kitchens and washer-dryers, hotels that sell connecting rooms as a bookable room type, and the big family rooms by Tokyo Disney Resort. Room sizes, maximum occupancy and child rules below come from each hotel's official website, not from booking-site listings.

Quick picks by what your family needs
- Kitchen + laundry in every room: MIMARU SUITES Tokyo Asakusa — two-bedroom suites for up to 6 adults + 2 small children, IH stove and cookware, washer-dryer in all rooms.
- Six to eight people, one booking: the connecting apartments at MIMARU Tokyo Station East (82 m²), MIMARU Tokyo Ikebukuro (78 m²) and MIMARU Tokyo Ueno East (78 m²) — each up to 8 adults + 4 children.
- A “real hotel” with a family room in central Shinjuku: Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo — Luxury Family Room for 3–5 with two toilets; children 0–5 free without a bed.
- Serviced-apartment comfort by Tokyo Station: Oakwood Premier Tokyo — two- and three-bedroom apartments with a dishwasher, oven and in-unit laundry, direct underground access from the station.
- Tokyo Disney Resort with a big family: Disney Ambassador Hotel Family Room (97 m², 6), Hilton Tokyo Bay Family Happy Magic Room (sleeps 6), Grand Nikko Bunk Bed Room (up to 6).
All 15 at a glance
Sleeps = the largest family room type on the official site. MIMARU's “+ children” means children aged 6 and under who share existing beds, on top of the adult number. “Not stated” means the official page does not say.
| Hotel · area | Largest family room · sleeps | Kitchen | Washer in room | Connecting rooms | Check it |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MIMARU SUITES Tokyo Asakusa Asakusa · Asakusa Sta. 3 min | Two-Bedroom Japanese Suite 74 m² — 6 adults + 2 small children | Full kitchen: IH stove, fridge, microwave, pots, pans, tableware | Yes — washer-dryer in every room | Not stated | See rates · Official site |
| MIMARU Tokyo Station East Hatchobori Sta. 2 min (Tokyo Station area) | Connecting Two-Bedroom Apartment 82 m² — 8 adults + 4 children; Family Suite 53 m² — 6 + 2 | Full kitchen | Yes in “Suite” types; not in “Apartment” types | Yes — a named connecting room type | See rates · Official site |
| MIMARU Tokyo Ikebukuro Ikebukuro Sta. West Exit 5 min | Connecting One-Bedroom Apartment 78 m² — 8 adults + 4 children; Two-Bedroom Family Suite 58 m² — 6 + 2, two bathrooms | Full kitchen | Yes in the two-bedroom suites; coin laundry for other rooms | Yes — a named connecting room type | See rates · Official site |
| MIMARU Tokyo Ueno East Ueno Sta. 3 min | Connecting Japanese Apartment 78 m² — 8 adults + 4 children; Family Apartment 39 m² — 4 + 2 | Full kitchen in all rooms | No in-room washer | Yes — a named connecting room type | See rates · Official site |
| MIMARU Tokyo Ginza East Shintomicho Sta. 3 min | Premium Japanese Apartment 63 m² — 6 adults + 2 children | Full kitchen | No in-room washer | Not stated | See rates · Official site |
| MIMARU Tokyo Shinjuku West Tochomae Sta. 8 min | Deluxe Japanese Apartment 60 m² — 6 adults + 2 children | Full kitchen | No in-room washer | Not stated | See rates · Official site |
| Tokyu Stay Shinjuku Shinjuku-sanchome Sta. (Exit C3) | Signature Family 47 m² — 4 people | Kitchenette: microwave, kettle, induction cooker, fridge | Yes — washer-dryer | Not stated | See rates · Official site |
| Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo Shinjuku-gyoenmae Sta. about 5 min | Stay Connecting 4 Beds 50 m² — 4 people; Stay Connected 3 Beds 50 m² — up to 5 | Kitchenette (serviced apartments) | Not stated | Yes — “Stay Connecting” room type | See rates · Official site |
| Oakwood Premier Tokyo Marunouchi · direct underground access from Tokyo Sta. Yaesu North Exit | 3 Bedroom Executive 110 m² — 6; 2 Bedroom 80–86 m² — 4 | Full kitchen incl. dishwasher, oven, microwave, IH cooktop | Yes — in-unit laundry | Not stated | See rates · Official site |
| Ascott Marunouchi Tokyo Otemachi Sta. direct covered access · Tokyo Sta. 10 min | Marunouchi Suite 163 m² — 6; Two-Bedroom incl. Tatami Room 91 m² — 4 (5th chargeable) | Kitchens in many apartments | Washer-dryers in many apartments | Not stated | See rates · Official site |
| Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo Nishi-Shinjuku · Tocho-mae Sta. Exit B1 | Luxury Family Room 46.3 m² — 3–5 people (4 beds + sofa bed, two toilets) | No (kettle, coffee machine) | No | Not stated | See rates · Official site |
| Hilton Tokyo Bay Urayasu · Tokyo Disney Resort area | Family Happy Magic Room Ocean — sleeps 6; Happy Magic Suite — sleeps 6 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | See rates · Official site |
| Grand Nikko Tokyo Bay Maihama Maihama · free Disney Resort Cruiser to Bayside Sta. | Nikko Grand Family Room 85 m² — 4–5; Nikko Bunk Bed Room 64 m² — up to 6 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | See rates · Official site |
| Disney Ambassador Hotel Tokyo Disney Resort (official hotel) | Family Room 97 m² — 6 (5 at no extra charge, 6th on an extra bed) | No | No | — | Official site |
| Tokyo Disneyland Hotel Tokyo Disney Resort (official hotel) | Family Room (Park View) 93 m² — 5 | No | No | — | Official site |
Disney's official hotels are booked on the Tokyo Disney Resort site, not on general booking sites, so they have no rates link here.
Asakusa & Ueno: kitchens, space, and the easiest neighbourhoods with a stroller
MIMARU SUITES Tokyo Asakusa
The most family-complete apartment hotel in this guide. Every room has two bedrooms, a kitchen (IH stove, fridge, microwave, pots, pans, knife, tableware) and its own washer-dryer. The Two-Bedroom Japanese Suite is 74 m² for 6 adults plus 2 small children (four single beds plus two futon); the standard Two-Bedroom Suite is 60 m² for 4 + 2. Baby cribs and bed guards are free to borrow (limited numbers, age restrictions apply). It is a 3-minute walk from Asakusa Station's Ginza Line exit 7 — Senso-ji, the river and the Skytree are all walkable with a stroller. See rates · official site
MIMARU Tokyo Ueno East
Three minutes from Ueno Station, which matters if you arrive on the Skyliner from Narita or plan Shinkansen day trips. All rooms have a kitchen and dining area; the Family Apartment (39 m²) takes 4 adults + 2 children with a bunk bed, and the Connecting Japanese Apartment joins two rooms into 78 m² for up to 8 adults + 4 children. There are no in-room washers here, so if laundry matters choose Asakusa or Tokyo Station East instead. See rates · official site
Tokyo Station, Hatchobori & Ginza: for Shinkansen days and business-district calm
MIMARU Tokyo Station East
Two minutes from Hatchobori Station and about 15 minutes on foot from Tokyo Station, so it works as a base for Kyoto or Osaka day trips without dragging luggage far. The Two-Bedroom Family Suite (53 m², 6 + 2) and the version with a mini dining area (60 m²) both have a washer-dryer; the cheaper “Apartment” types do not. The Connecting Two-Bedroom Apartment is the largest family option in central Tokyo we found on an official page: 82 m², eight single beds, two bathrooms, for 8 adults + 4 children. See rates · official site
Oakwood Premier Tokyo
A serviced-apartment residence with direct underground access from Tokyo Station's Yaesu North Exit — so there is no street to cross with a stroller between the Shinkansen and your door. Every apartment has a full kitchen with dishwasher, oven, microwave and IH cooktop, plus an in-unit laundry machine. Two-bedroom apartments (80–86 m²) take 4; the Three Bedroom Executive (110 m²) takes 6. See rates · official site
Ascott Marunouchi Tokyo
Covered access to Otemachi Station and ten minutes on foot to Tokyo Station. The Two-Bedroom apartment with a tatami room (91 m²) takes 4 with a chargeable fifth guest; the Marunouchi Suite (163 m²) takes 6. Kitchens and washer-dryers are listed for many apartments — confirm the room type you book includes them. See rates · official site
MIMARU Tokyo Ginza East
Three minutes from Shintomicho Station on the Yurakucho Line, in the quiet residential edge of Ginza. Family apartments run from 55 m² (Superior Family, 6 + 2) to the 63 m² Premium Japanese Apartment; all have kitchens, none have in-room washers. Popular with families who want Tsukiji and Ginza on foot. See rates · official site
Shinjuku & Ikebukuro: big-station convenience for day trips
MIMARU Tokyo Ikebukuro
Five minutes from Ikebukuro's West Exit on the Yamanote Line. The Two-Bedroom Family Suite (58 m², 6 + 2) has four single beds plus a bunk and two restrooms — and a washer-dryer, which the smaller rooms do not. The Connecting One-Bedroom Apartment (78 m², 8 + 4, two bathrooms) is the option for two families travelling together. There is also a Pokémon-themed room (39 m², 4 + 2), which is the thing children remember. See rates · official site
Tokyu Stay Shinjuku
Thirty seconds from Shinjuku-sanchome Station's exit C3, and a short walk to Shinjuku Station itself. The Signature Family room (47 m²) takes 4 and comes with a kitchenette (microwave, kettle, induction cooker, fridge) and a washer-dryer — a rare combination in a conventional hotel. Good for a family of four who want one room, not an apartment. See rates · official site
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
A large full-service hotel steps from Tocho-mae Station exit B1. The Luxury Family Room (46.3 m²) takes 3–5 people on four beds plus a sofa bed and has two toilets, a bath and a separate shower — practical for bedtime with several children. No kitchen, but the booking terms show children aged 0–5 stay free without a bed. See rates · official site
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
About five minutes from Shinjuku-gyoenmae Station, so Shinjuku Gyoen — the best big lawn in central Tokyo for small children — is on your doorstep. The Stay Connecting 4 Beds (50 m², four single beds, living and dining area) is sold as a connecting room type; the Stay Connected 3 Beds takes up to 5 with a chargeable fifth guest. Rooms are serviced apartments with kitchenettes. See rates · official site
MIMARU Tokyo Shinjuku West
Eight minutes from Tochomae Station in the office district west of Shinjuku — quieter than the east side, with the park under the government towers for a morning run-around. Apartments for six: the Deluxe Japanese Apartment (60 m², two singles, two futon and a bunk) and the Superior One-Bedroom with six single beds (58 m²). Kitchens in all rooms; no in-room washers. See rates · official site
Tokyo Disney Resort & Maihama: the biggest family rooms in Tokyo
Disney Ambassador Hotel and Tokyo Disneyland Hotel (official)
The Ambassador's Family Room is 97 m² for 6 — two sets of twin beds plus a trundle, so five sleep at no extra charge and a sixth goes on an extra bed for a fee — with a jetted tub. Tokyo Disneyland Hotel's Family Room (Park View) is 93 m² for 5; its Junior Family Room (57 m²) takes 4. At both hotels children 11 and under may share an existing bed and cribs for under-18-months are by advance reservation; at the Ambassador, children's slippers, toothbrushes and a step stool are in the room and pajamas are available on request. There is no kitchen and no in-room laundry. These are booked on the resort's own site. Ambassador Family Room · Disneyland Hotel rooms
Hilton Tokyo Bay
On the Urayasu waterfront beside Tokyo Disney Resort. The Family Happy Magic Room Ocean sleeps 6 and the Park version sleeps 5; the Happy Magic Suite sleeps 6. The hotel lists cribs among its amenities and describes the Happy Magic rooms as having flexible bed arrangements for children. Room sizes are not stated on the official rooms page. See rates · official site
Grand Nikko Tokyo Bay Maihama
With the free Disney Resort Cruiser shuttle to Bayside Station. The Nikko Grand Family Room is 85 m² for 4–5; the Nikko Bunk Bed Room (64 m²) takes up to 6 and is the one to look at with three or four children; Deluxe Family Rooms (56–64 m²) have four beds. See rates · official site
Also at the resort: Sheraton Grande Tokyo Bay lists “Treasures 4–6 Beds” and “Family Premium 5 Beds” room types (sizes and occupancy are not stated in its room list), and Toy Story Hotel's rooms top out at 4 people. Park tickets: Tokyo Disney Resort 1-day passes on Klook.
Child policies worth knowing before you book
- “Children” often means “no bed”. MIMARU's “+ 2 children” is for ages 6 and under sharing existing beds; a 7-year-old counts as an adult for capacity. Keio Plaza's terms show ages 0–5 free without a bed. Disney hotels allow bed-sharing up to age 11.
- Cribs are limited and often need reserving. MIMARU lends cribs and bed guards free but in limited numbers; Disney hotels take crib reservations in advance for under-18-months.
- Apartment ≠ Suite at MIMARU. At Tokyo Station East and Ikebukuro the “Suite” types have a washer-dryer and the “Apartment” types do not. Read the room name, not just the size.
- Connecting rooms: book the named type. Where a hotel sells “Connecting …” as a room type (MIMARU Tokyo Station East, Ikebukuro, Ueno East; Citadines Shinjuku) you are guaranteed the layout. Everywhere else it is a request, and the official pages in this guide do not promise it.
Do you really need a kitchen?
For a family with a picky eater, a baby on formula or purées, or anyone with a food allergy, yes — being able to boil pasta, heat rice from the convenience store and wash bottles turns evenings from a negotiation into a routine. Tokyo supermarkets and konbini make it easy (see our guides to konbini snacks for picky eaters and budget family meals). A washer-dryer in the room is the second thing parents say they would not give up, because it halves what you pack. If you will eat out every night and stay under a week, a conventional family room such as Keio Plaza's is simpler and you skip the apartment-hotel cleaning rhythm.

Frequently asked questions
Which Tokyo hotels have kitchens for families?
The apartment-hotel brands are the reliable answer: every MIMARU property in this guide lists an IH stove, fridge, microwave and cookware in the room; Oakwood Premier Tokyo and Ascott Marunouchi Tokyo have full kitchens (Oakwood adds a dishwasher and oven); Tokyu Stay Shinjuku and Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo have kitchenettes. The Disney-area hotels and Keio Plaza do not have kitchens.
Which Tokyo hotels have connecting rooms?
Hotels that sell a connecting room as a named room type — so you can actually book it rather than request it — include MIMARU Tokyo Station East, MIMARU Tokyo Ikebukuro, MIMARU Tokyo Ueno East (each up to 8 adults + 4 children) and Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo (Stay Connecting 4 Beds). Other hotels may connect rooms on request, but it is not stated on their official pages, so do not rely on it.
Can a family of six stay in one room in Tokyo?
Yes. MIMARU's two-bedroom suites and Japanese apartments take 6 adults plus 2 small children, Oakwood Premier Tokyo's three-bedroom apartment takes 6, Grand Nikko's Bunk Bed Room takes up to 6, Hilton Tokyo Bay's Family Happy Magic Room sleeps 6, and Disney Ambassador Hotel's Family Room takes 6.
Do children stay free in Tokyo hotels?
It depends on the hotel and the child's age, and it usually means sharing an existing bed. MIMARU counts children aged 6 and under without a bed on top of the adult capacity; Keio Plaza's booking terms show ages 0–5 at no charge with no bed; Tokyo Disney Resort hotels allow children 11 and under to share a bed. Always check the current policy on the official site before you book.
Is it better to stay near Tokyo Disney Resort or in central Tokyo?
If the parks are the centre of the trip, stay at the resort: the official hotels and the Maihama partner hotels have the largest family rooms in this guide and park shuttles. If Disney is one or two days out of a week, a central apartment hotel with a kitchen (Asakusa, Ueno, Tokyo Station, Shinjuku) is easier for everything else and cheaper to feed a family from.

Related guides
- Kyoto & Osaka family hotels with kitchens
- Tokyo apartments for families of 6 or more
- Every Tokyo Disney Resort hotel, compared for families
- Ryokan stays with kids: family inns and etiquette
- Kid-friendly onsen with private baths
- Tokyo Disneyland vs DisneySea with young kids
- 10-day family itinerary: Tokyo, Kyoto, Osaka
- Shinkansen family fare calculator
Room details, occupancy and child policies were read from each hotel's official website in September 2026 and can change; confirm on the official page or with the hotel before you book. We are not affiliated with any hotel listed and do not accept sponsored stays. Some links are affiliate links — if you book or buy through them we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.